Introduction to Mhlontlo Local Municipality

Mhlontlo Local Municipality is a B4 rural Municipality incorporating Qumbu and Tsolo rural towns. It lies on the North East side of the Eastern Cape Provincial border alongside the N2 route between Mthatha and Mt. Frere and R396 between Tsolo and Maclear. It is bordered by King Sabata Dalindyebo Local Municipality to the South, Nyandeni Local Municipality to the East, Umzimvubu Local Municipality to the North, all are under the OR Tambo District Municipality and Elundini Local Municipality to the West which is under the Joe Gqabi District Municipality.

Mhlontlo Local Municipality was established in terms of section 12 of the Local Government Municipal Structures Act (Act 117 of 1998). As a result of this act two Transitional Local Council, Qumbu TLC and Tsolo TLC and their respective Transitional Council were established to form one Municipality-Mhlontlo Local Municipality. It is one of the five municipalities that constitute OR Tambo District Municipality which falls under the Province Eastern Cape. The municipal area covers 282, 614km2 and has a population density of 73.3 people per km2.

Our Vision

The Mhlontlo Municipality envisions itself as a united community that champions viable socio-economic development programmes and provision of effective and efficient services in an environment of good governance.

Our Mission

To achieve our vision, the Mhlontlo Municipality intents to, mobilize resources for the best quality services and strive to create a user friendly environment for its citizens and investors, thus resulting in sustainable development in partnership with other stakeholders.

Our key Objectives

  • Expediting the reduction of service delivery backlogs;
  • Addressing absolute poverty, food security and reduction of youth unemployment;
  • Ramping up economic growth by giving special focus to the growth and development of the agriculture and forestry, as well as tourism economic sectors